Don’t Marry in Your 20s

Maclean’s recently reviewed a book titled Last One Down the Aisle Wins: 10 Keys to a Fabulous Single Life Now and an Even Better Marriage Later about the pitfalls of marrying young. The message is not not marry until you’re 30 and spend the 20s developing oneself – including building friendships, values and financial independence. It’s something I totally agree as I went thru it all myself.

“If you spend your twenties learning how to be a fabulous, stable, independent, fulfilled single woman, it will naturally follow that you will choose a guy to marry who possesses these same wonderful qualities.”

The book struck a chord with me because I met G when I was 19 and didn’t know myself yet. I spent my 20s figuring who I was, much to the disappointment of G but he stuck around for me. G fell in love with the innocence and fantasies of a 20 year old but I’m certain we wouldn’t hit it off if we meet now not for my kinky sexual preference and lack of career. I’ve always maintained I’m the lucky one in the relationship for having someone so accepting for my infidelities and being so patient with a totally different person than the one he met 12 years earlier.

Leave a Reply

