Older and Wiser

One obsession of our North American culture I haven’t succumbed to is the pursuit of youth. As many people would pray to be younger, I’m very happy to be 32. Yes, my mid-section is less than defined compared to when I was 20 but I don’t have the saggy skin and wrinkled forehead plaguing a 50 year old so the physical effects haven’t dawned on me yet, giving me the courage to say this. Ask me in 20 years, it may be different.

What I’m talking about is that as I’ve matured since college, I’ve become wiser and understand that things are never black and white. It’s true that wisdom comes with age and I’ve learned a lot in the past 12 years, the lesson has been so valuable that I am really appreciating it and hopefully make me a stronger person for the years to come.

One big lesson I learned is that there are no shortcuts in life. We all have to pay for it someway or another, just a matter of now or later. I cheated routinely thru high school and college thinking that I could get away with it but my laziness came back to haunt me, teaching me that I can’t cheat thru life. I was lucky to have successfully cheated but luck is not reliable like hard work.

There’s so much I wanna say but yet at the same time not sure where I’m going with this. Anyways, I just wanted to point out that it isn’t that bad being older and I wouldn’t trade what experiences for youth (not that it’s possible).

Leave a Reply

